top of page

Oddball: A first-hand account of one of NMMU's more unorthodox sports

A first attempt at underwater hockey

Ten minutes into my first game and I’m floundering about and gasping for air. The game moves faster than you’d think possible for an underwater sport and I constantly find myself a few seconds behind the action. So far, my favourite part of the game is the bit of rest you get after a goal is scored. We go back to our respective sides as the puck is put squarely in the middle of the pool. The signal is given and both teams sprint to get possession first. Some more splashing and gasping for air ensues and I get the feeling that I’m more in the way than anything else. The more experienced players are very patient with my cluelessness and kindly offer advice, although I do sense a bit of amusement every time they ask if I’m coping. They’ve seen this before and they can tell that I’m not.

Try picturing a game of ice hockey. Only it’s played on the bottom of a 3m deep pool and the players are holding their breath. Now picture the players with fins instead of ice skates; goggles and snorkels instead of helmets; 30cm bats instead of hockey sticks; and speedos instead of padded jackets. You’re imagining the sport called underwater hockey, but I can assure you that your imagination isn’t doing it justice.

The fatigue can be likened to playing a very high tempo rugby or soccer match, except every time you get the ball you have to hold your breath. It’s unlike anything I’ve played and nothing can prepare you for the thigh-numbing experience other than an outstanding fitness level. This is to be expected as the game was invented in 1954 as a way for British navy divers to keep fit in the off-season.

After practice, I’m assured that it takes three to four games before getting the hang of it and only then will I start enjoying it. Most of the NMMU underwater hockey club members use the sport as a supplement to their spear fishing or scuba diving, and although there are more men than women, it is a sport that can be enjoyed by both genders.

Even though this is not what you might call a spectators’ sport, it is currently played in over 36 countries and has a world championship in which South Africa regularly finishes on the podium. That might be due to the healthy club and provincial competitions that take place all over the country every year.

Practice at NMMU is every Tuesday, Thursday and Friday from 18:00 till 20:00 and you’ll need a swimming costume, snorkel, diving goggles and fins, although all of this is provided to new members if they don’t have their own. Contact Stephan at stephan09keys@gmail.com if you’re interested in joining one of the most breath-taking sports on offer at NMMU!

Image sourced from: https://uwrugby.wordpress.com/2012/10/08/do-you-want-to-try-underwater-hockey/

bottom of page